How to remove/uninstall .NET Framework 4.7 from Windows Server 2012 R2

I tried to install .NET Framework 4.7 in my test environment but some of my applications were not working properly anymore. The first step I did was to look in Programs and Features, but the “Microsoft .NET Framework 4.7” was not there. Then I searched on the Internet on how to remove it, but I couldn’t find a proper solution for my case. For non-server Windows OS, there is one, and it says that you can uninstall it from Programs and Features. But since I’m using Windows Server, that’s not applicable.

Then I started searching on my own. I clicked the “View installed updates” in Programs and Features and searched for the latest Windows update that was installed. I tried to uninstall KB3186539. Luckily, it was the .NET Framework 4.7! My applications are now working properly.

Note: If you are using a different version of Windows, the KB number might be different.

3 thoughts on “How to remove/uninstall .NET Framework 4.7 from Windows Server 2012 R2

Leave a Reply

